Late Summer Reflections

Summer is drawing to a close. It is still very warm in the afternoon but it doesn’t feel like summer anymore. The light has changed, it is warmer, more golden than in summer and the air is more brisk and has lost the smell of fresh grass and leaves.

Today I took E. to a park, which is close to my parents’ house and which I have always loved very much. To me the place is somewhat magical. As a little girl I used to build little houses for gnomes and elves between the roots of the huge oaks and in a way I can still imagine them living there, eating blueberries, acorns and rose-hip and dancing on the sunlit glades.

It was an absolutely beautiful afternoon and luckily I had my camera with me. E. played happily between the trees and I wandered around, taking pictures. It felt like we had left the normal world and entered a fairyland.

I was called back to reality rather rudely by an elderly lady, who felt that she had to be remind me to ” look after my little sister, who has just stumbled in some stinging nettles!” I calmly told her that I don’t have a little sister. ” Well, whose kid is it then?”, she demanded to know. “Mine”, I informed her, trying to transform my smirk into a friendly smile. The look of embarrassment, confusion and slight anger on her face was pretty hilarious.

E. seemed to be quite impressed by the lady, because soon after she had gone, E. found a stick and started to perfectly imitate the way she had walked, leaning on her walking stick and walking with tiny shuffling steps.

Perhaps we had just met the little vicious witch of our fairyland…

2 thoughts on “Late Summer Reflections

Leave a comment